• I have the best Solicitor in the country
  • Thank you for all your help and advice. I would recommend you to anyone needing a good solicitor
  • Professional and friendly service!
  • Always most helpful, knowledgeable and understanding. Very pleasant and efficient
  • Thank you very much for all of the work that you have done, delighted with the speed with which matters were concluded

Trainee Solicitor Testimonials

Please find some comments about whats its like working for Martin Tolhust from some of our current & former Trainee Solicitors below:

Hannah Stanford – Trainee Solicitor (August 2016 – July 2018)  

Trainee Solicitor Hannah Stanford started her training contract with Martin Tolhurst Solicitors in August 2016. Hannah’s first seat with Martin Tolhurst Solicitors was with our Conveyancing team. Hannah is now in her second seat with our Wills and Probate team.

Trainee Solicitor Hannah Stanford is very impressed with the standard of training at Martin Tolhurst Solicitors.

Where and what did you study at University before you were accepted for a Training Contract with Martin Tolhurst Solicitors?

I studied Law at the University of Reading before completing the Legal Practice Course at the University of Law in London. I have since been awarded a Masters in Professional Legal Practice and am looking forward to my graduation this April.

What work had you done before you started your training, including work placements and voluntary work? Did your work experience prove useful?

I have worked for various law firms and private legal practioners in and around Kent, gaining an understanding in a range of areas including family law, employment law, conveyancing and private client services. These experiences have been invaluable in my decision to advance my career in the legal sector.

When and why did you decide to become a solicitor with Martin Tolhurst Solicitors?

As well as having an excellent reputation locally, Martin Tolhurst Solicitors has been continuously supportive and encouraging throughout my studies. It is unlikely that I would have received such a high level of backing or training elsewhere and for this reason there was no other firm I would have completed my training with.

How did you get a place at Martin Tolhurst Solicitors and what did you do before?

I began at Martin Tolhurst Solicitors as an Office Administrator, travelling between the offices throughout my time at University. Once I had completed my second year of University I was offered my training contract with the firm.

How long have you been a trainee and what seats have you held?

I have been a trainee for 4 months and am currently in my second seat in the Wills and Probate department. For the first 3 months I worked alongside Jane Williams, Partner, in the Conveyancing department.

What does your typical day as a trainee solicitor look like?

My day begins with a big cup of coffee which I enjoy whilst sorting through any correspondence that I have received. After attending to any urgent matters I begin reviewing the client’s instructions and drafting their Wills accordingly. I respond to client queries throughout the day and reserve the afternoon to finalise and register Client Wills.

What training and support did you receive whilst being a trainee solicitor?

Martin Tolhust Solicitors has been wholly supportive throughout my training contract. By requiring me to complete modules on their online training programme I am able to test my knowledge and understanding of a key legal area. This is also useful for keeping up to date with the latest legal developments. My Supervisor is always on hand to answer any questions that I may have and has been friendly and encouraging throughout.

What are the best bits about being a trainee at Martin Tolhurst Solicitors?

Martin Tolhurst Solicitors has provided me with the knowledge and confidence to develop my legal career. I am encouraged to act independently but I know that there is always support from absolutely everyone in the firm.

Rebecca Young – Trainee Solicitor (April 2016 – March 2018)  

Trainee Solicitor Rebecca Young started her training contract with Martin Tolhurst Solicitors in April 2016. Rebecca is currently in her first seat with our Wills and Probate team.

Rebecca discusses why she chose to train with Martin Tolhurst Solicitors.

Where and what did you study at University before you were accepted for a Training Contract with Martin Tolhurst Solicitors?

I studied Sociology at the University of Essex before completing the Graduate Diploma in Law and the Legal Practice Course at the University of Law in London.

What work had you done before you started your training, including work placements and voluntary work? Did your work experience prove useful?

Before I started at Martin Tolhurst Solicitors I worked for another law firm in Kent. While I was studying I undertook work experience at a large law firm in London which opened by eyes to the world of law and also made me realise that I would prefer to work in a more regional setting.

When and why did you decide to become a solicitor with Martin Tolhurst Solicitors?

I wanted to become a solicitor with Martin Tolhurst Solicitors because the firm has an excellent reputation for valuing its local clients. I wanted to be part of a firm which provides high standard legal services and also gives back to the community it is a part of, which Martin Tolhurst Solicitors does through various charitable activities each year.

How did you get a place at Martin Tolhurst Solicitors and what did you do before?

I started at Martin Tolhurst Solicitors as an office administrator, firstly in Residential Conveyancing and then in the Wills and Probate department. After about 1 ½ years with the firm I was offered the opportunity to become a trainee.

How long have you been a trainee and what seats have you held?

I have been a trainee for 7 months and I am currently in my first seat in the Wills and Probate department.

What does your typical day as a trainee solicitor look like?

I begin my day by checking through my emails and dealing with any urgent emails. After this I start drafting the Wills for any new clients I have received instructions from. I generally have calls to make to clients which I begin mid-morning. After lunch I will check through my emails again and then prepare engrossed (final copy) Wills for the clients to sign. Throughout the day I may have meetings with clients to either take their instructions or sign their Wills.

What training and support did you receive whilst being a trainee solicitor?

I was given a full and comprehensive period of training before I was asked to take on my own files. My supervisor is always available to ask for help and guidance, as are the other members of the Wills and Probate department. Martin Tolhurst Solicitors also has its own online training programme which is very useful to keep up to date with the latest legal developments.

What are the best bits about being a trainee at Martin Tolhurst Solicitors?

I really enjoy being a trainee at Martin Tolhurst Solicitors. One of the best bits is actually having your own files to manage. Martin Tolhurst Solicitors is very good at helping people progress their career with the firm and everyone is very friendly and happy to help.

Abdul Mutallib – Trainee Solicitor (April 2015 – October 2016)  

Abdul Mutallib qualified as a Solicitor in October 2016 and was very impressed with the Training contract provided by Martin Tolhurst Solicitors.

Abdul discusses his time as a trainee and what interesting challenges he faced whilst on his solicitor training contract.

Where and what did you study at University before you were accepted for a Training Contract with Martin Tolhurst Solicitors?

I studied Law at the University of Kent (Canterbury Campus).

What work had you done before you started your training, including work placements and voluntary work? Did your work experience prove useful?

Prior to starting my training contract with Martin Tolhurst Solicitors I worked for a Personal Injury Firm based in London. Having worked there I was able to gain valuable experience in handling a wide range of Personal Injury cases including accidents at work, occupier’s liability, foreign objects in food, product liability and highways claims. 

When and why did you decide to become a solicitor with Martin Tolhurst Solicitors?

I qualified as a Solicitor with Martin Tolhurst Solicitors in October 2016. I decided to join the firm due to it being one of the biggest regional firms in Kent. I knew Martin Tolhurst Solicitors was well known for its reputation as having one of the largest Conveyancing departments in Kent and this was a deciding factor when I decided to relocate to Kent and join Martin Tolhurst Solicitors.

How did you get a place at Martin Tolhurst Solicitors and what did you do before? 

I initially worked as a Conveyancing Assistant to Jane Williams, a Partner of the firm. Having impressed and worked for a period of 6 months and upon successfully passing my probation period, to my delight I was offered a Training Contract.

What does a typical day as a trainee solicitor look like?

My work as a Trainee varied enormously. It also depended on the area of practice that I was working in. A typical day as a Trainee Solicitor in the Conveyancing department will involve preparing detailed report to clients on title documents, search results, mortgage offers, liaising with clients, agents, mortgage lenders and solicitors on the other side to progress the sale/purchase transaction from instruction to completion. 

Whereas a typical day in the Wills & Probate department involved meeting clients in person to take instructions, provide advice on Inheritance tax, advise on the most suitable type of Will for the client i.e. standard Will, Life Trusts, Discretionary Trust etc. In this seat the majority of the dealing is mainly directly with the client rather than with businesses or third parties. 

What training and support did you receive whilst being a trainee solicitor?

There is so much training and support in all the seats. Whilst working as a Trainee I was assigned to a Fee Earner who was responsible for training me. This was in addition to being monitored and supervised by the Managing Partner, Richard Carter. 

There is also a training programme, Training Tracker, which all members of staff especially Fee Earners must take part in. Topics of importance are carefully selected by the Partners and are made available for Fee Earners to read and then take a test on each of the topic to check their knowledge and understanding of the topic. 

Depending on the area of practice there are also often Training Sessions held for all Fee Earners to provide an update of recent changes to law.

What are the best bits about being a trainee at Martin Tolhurst Solicitors?

Trainees are encouraged to attend all the training sessions offered by the firm. In this way, I learned about developments in all areas of practice, regardless of whether that was my current area of practice or not.  

As a Trainee I mainly worked in the Ashford and Longfield Office, but I also visited our other offices as and when required. The atmosphere throughout the firm is very friendly. Everyone, including the Partners are approachable and are at all times available and are happy to answer any questions and assist on any matters.

What interesting challenges did you face whilst on your solicitor training contract?

As a Trainee Solicitor working on a wide variety of cases and tasks I was constantly challenged. It’s really varied and you are given ownership of the work you are doing.  

Working in Conveyancing was probably particularly challenging because every transaction is different. There were also regular changes to law. I was constantly learning on-the-job. I had to pick things up quicker too, simply because you have to.

What skills have you developed since being with Martin Tolhurst Solicitors and what are you doing now?

Working with Martin Tolhurst Solicitors enabled me to enhance my written skill, communications skills and increased my confidence in dealing with various types of cases.

I am currently working in the Conveyancing department as I've thoroughly enjoyed my seat in Conveyancing. The exposure to clients is impressive and I have been entrusted to handle various different transactions.

Emily Holland – Trainee Solicitor (September 2012 – September 2014)  

Emily Holland qualified as a Solicitor with Martin Tolhurst Solicitors in September 2014 and is currently employed as a Wills and Probate Solicitor.

Emily discusses her time as a Trainee and the transition to her current role.

Where and what did you study at University before you were accepted for a Training Contract with Martin Tolhurst Solicitors?

I studied for my undergraduate degree in English and Philosophy at the University of Bristol. I didn’t consider doing a law degree at university, as I intended to keep my options open at this early stage. It wasn’t until part way through my degree that I considered a legal career as a possibility, and since reaching that decision, I haven’t looked back!

What work had you done before you started your training, including work placements and voluntary work? Did your work experience prove useful?

My first job was at a department store which certainly taught me customer care skills which are invaluable, in my opinion, in any career. Whilst at University I worked as a peer mentor for incoming first year students to help them transition into independence and life at university. I really enjoyed this as it was rewarding to be able to use the experiences I had  when starting university to help others. I also worked for the University’s Newspaper as the Arts section editor. I thoroughly enjoyed this role, but it did confirm that a life in journalism wasn’t for me! It was as a result of this that I sought work experience in alternative industries, and I secured work experience with Martin Tolhurst Solicitors at the Ashford office. 

When and why did you decide to become a solicitor with Martin Tolhurst Solicitors?

I started my Training Contract in September 2012 and qualified in September 2014. Prior to this I was working as an administration assistant with Martin Tolhurst Solicitors in my university holidays. My relationship with the firm grew to the extent that I was offered a training contact which I was delighted to accept.

How did you get a place at Martin Tolhurst Solicitors and what did you do before? 

My initial application to Martin Tolhurst Solicitors was in fact for work experience. Work experience turned into a summer administration assistance job, assisting the conveyancers with file opening, searches, draft contracts, etc, and I was allowed to sit in on client appointments in both the matrimonial and private client departments. It was as a result of my first stint with Martin Tolhurst Solicitors that I was offered a training contract, in advance of me having completed the Graduate Diploma in Law and the Legal Practice Course. The summer work and work experience I had with Martin Tolhurst Solicitors confirmed to me that I wanted a career in the legal industry, and I was very pleased to accept the offer of a Training Contract with the firm that gave me my first insight into the profession. The firm supported me through my Graduate Diploma in Law and my Legal Practice Course, and I started my Training Contract two years later.

What does a typical day as a trainee solicitor look like? 

After a short period of time observing client meetings at the start of each seat, I was given my own client base. I would therefore manage my own case load as well as assisting other fee earners and Partners on their larger cases with drafting documents and forms and liaising with clients and other solicitors. Every day was different, and at no point did I feel like I was simply completing the same task/job over and over again.

What training and support did you receive whilst being a trainee solicitor?

I received training in family law, including divorce, finances and children matters; Private Client work, including estate administration, drafting Wills, Lasting Powers of Attorney, and Court of Protection work; litigation, dealing mainly with clients that had outstanding debts to the firm and seeking a County Court judgment against them; and dealing with property matters in relation to the above work such as Transfers of Equity and Declarations of Trust over property. I had excellent support from the fee earners that I assisted throughout my Training Contract who were always very keen to have me assist and get stuck in to the clients’ work, rather than just observing from a distance.

What are the best bits about being a trainee at Martin Tolhurst Solicitors?

For me, it was having my own case load and client base with whom I could build a relationship. Even just two years on from qualification, I am already seeing returning clients who wish to see me, as a result of the relationships I was able to build during my Training Contract. In my opinion, this made the transition to a fully qualified Solicitor basically seamless, since I felt I was already doing the job as Trainee. All that changed was my legal status, and my charge-out rate, of course!

What interesting challenges did you face whilst on your solicitor training contract?

I always found Court appearances particularly challenging. I would usually attend to assist Counsel, and support the client, but occasionally it was all down to me, for example when obtaining urgent injunctions. It was definitely invaluable experience, but I would always find this particularly nerve-wracking!

What skills have you developed since being with Martin Tolhurst Solicitors and what are you doing now?

I have certainly developed my client care skills, and I obtained a Fee Earner Gold Award in respect of my client care skills shortly after qualifying. I have qualified into the Private Client department, and I find this area of law particularly interesting and rewarding, especially when assisting clients at often very difficult and sensitive times following the death of a loved one, or in deed planning for when they themselves have passed away. On a daily basis I deal with the administration of estates, preparation of Wills (including estate planning and tax advice) and Lasting Powers of Attorney, Court of Protection applications, Transfers of Equity, post-death variations and Declarations of Trust. I now work part-time following the birth of my son, and I am able to fit this work in and around family life.

I am very grateful to Martin Tolhurst Solicitors  for the fantastic start to my legal career that has been provided to me.